Critical Review Final Project

My final major project has evolved a lot since my first proposal. At first I was thinking about literally framing pictures that had been taken during the year and take other pictures that symbolize memories and events that had happened. I stepped away of that idea and decided to include a movie, objects and pictures that don’t symbolise certain moments. Even though my outcome has changed, my main idea of framing this year and looking at hoarding, memories and the experience of my year abroad has stayed the same.

Most of the research I did, I did at the start of the project to try evolve and explore my ideas. Later on I spent more time looking though my own memories, hoardings and experiences which lead to experimentation. I tried to make little meaningful pieces or collect objects that I hoarded and had a story to them. Books, origami butterflies, letters and even empty vodka bottles were used for the stories they tell. The viewer might think they are random objects on a shelve/frame but to me they aren’t. I leave it up to them to figure out the deeper meaning of some of the things while others are clarified like for instance the sea in a bottle.

I did not experiment that much before starting on my final projects, neither did I explore a lot of other ideas before coming to the idea I executed. Looking back I already had the idea in the back of my head and explored and experimented within the idea I had. I did experiment with all the different multi media pieces being part of my art piece and explored within hoarding, framing, memories and my experiences. I don’t believe not experimenting or exploring thoroughly before coming with my idea is a bad thing as I had enough space to do this within my idea.

 Seeing my work, which is filled with memories and stories of the past nine months, up against the wall pleases me more than I thought it would do. During the process of this project I have had my doubts of the quality of my work and I wasn’t sure if the viewer would appreciate it the way I do. I decided to not think too much about that as it would make me too insecure to be able to create a piece how it has unfolded itself now. I’m happy with the final piece that will be exhibitioned in June. Looking back I believe I shouldn’t have thought too much about it and just started experimenting and researching for inspiration immediately. One of my favourite parts was making the video with my friends, which is displayed in the middle of the frame. All of us fooling around and having a laugh to the new popular song ‘Call Me Maybe’. It shows the dynamic between all the people in the group and it puts a smile on my face every time I see it. The pictures containing meaningful quotes were another part of the project that I really enjoyed. Even though I had no idea how to work with Photoshop before, I loved playing around with all the different possibilities to edit and add onto pictures. It gave me the freedom to express myself in a different ways that I hadn’t tried before. I do believe that that is an important part of the course that I have had the freedom to evolve in: experimenting and trying out new materials and mediums. Even making my frame in the workshop was a new experience.

Leave a Reply

